It’s official: António Costa’s Government shrinks

  • ECO News
  • 23 March 2022

The structure of the new Government has already been delivered to President of Portugal, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa.

The third Government led by António Costa will have two fewer ministries and 12 fewer state secretaries than the previous one, which went down in history as the largest in Portuguese democracy. The Socialist leader thus fulfils the promise made during the election campaign that he would form a “more compact” Government.

Already after his victory in the elections was confirmed, and with an absolute majority that freed him from the Portuguese far-left, the Secretary-General of the Socialist Party (PS) repeated that the new executive would be “shorter and leaner”, like a “task force for recovery”.

The President of Portugal, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, has already scheduled that, if no other unforeseen events arise, such as a new challenge to the election results, the future deputies will take office on March 29 and the new ministers and secretaries of state can be made official together the very next day.

The governing team that collapsed after the Parliament was dissolved – it had been formed in October 2019 after the first experience with the so-called geringonça – included, besides the Prime Minister, 19 ministers and 50 secretaries of state, for a total of 70 elements.

In a statement, the Prime Minister’s office notes that there are “20% fewer governors than in the previous executive” and also reports that it has decided to make two Secretaries of State directly dependent on him: for Digitalisation and Administrative Modernisation, and for European Affairs. The full list of ministers will be delivered to the President of Portugal by the end of the day. António Costa has eliminated three ministries from the Government’s structure and created a new one for Parliamentary Affairs.

Government composition:

Prime Minister

Secretary of State (SE) for Digitisation and Administrative Modernisation

SE for European Affairs


Ministry of the Presidency

SE for the Presidency of the Council of Ministers

SE for Planning

SE for Public Administration


Ministry of Foreign Affairs

SE Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

SE for Portuguese Communities


Ministry of National Defence

SE for National Defence


Ministry of Internal Administration

SE for Internal Administration

SE for Civil Protection


Ministry of Justice

SE Deputy and Justice

SE for Justice


Ministry of Finance

SE for Budget

SE for Fiscal Affairs

SE for the Treasury


Minister of State and Parliamentary Affairs

SE for Equality and Migration

SE for Youth and Sports


Ministry of Economy and Sea

SE for Economy

SE for Tourism, Trade and Services

SE for Sea


Ministry of Culture

SE for Culture


Ministry of Science, Technology and Higher Education

SE for Higher Education


Ministry of Education

SE for Education


Ministry of Labour, Solidarity and Social Security

SE of Labour

SE of Social Security

SE of Inclusion and Social Action


Ministry of Health

SE Adjunct and Health

SE for Health


Ministry of the Environment and Climate Action

SE for Nature Conservation and Forestry

SE for Environment and Energy

SE for Urban Mobility


Ministry of Infrastructure and Housing

SE for Infrastructure

SE for Housing


Ministry for Territorial Cohesion

SE for Regional Development

SE for Local Administration and Territorial Management


Ministry of Agriculture and Food

SE for Agriculture

SE for Fisheries