State lifts state of calamity in 19 parishes of Lisbon

  • ECO News
  • 30 July 2020

The government approved in the Council of Ministers the transition of the Metropolitan Area of Lisbon to the contingency level.

The government has lifted the restrictions on the 19 parishes in the Metropolitan Area of Lisbon (AML), moving them from a state of calamity to a contingency level. The announcement was made this Thursday by the Minister of State and the Presidency, Mariana Viera da Silva, after the Council of Ministers.

“At this moment, and given the decreasing trend in the number of cases, we will remain with the country, except for the AML, with the level of alert it was in until now, passing the entire Lisbon and Tagus Valley region, including the entire Lisbon Metropolitan Area, to the contingency situation,” said the Minister of the Presidency, Mariana Vieira da Silva, in statements transmitted by RTP3.

They are Santa Clara (Lisbon), four parishes of the municipality of Odivelas (Odivelas and the parish unions of Pontinha and Famões, Póvoa de Santo Adrião and Olival Basto, and Ramada and Caneças), the six parishes of the municipality of Amadora (Alfragide, Águas Livres, Encosta do Sol, Mina de Água, Venteira and União de Freguesias de Falagueira and Venda Nova), six parishes of Sintra (unions of parishes of Queluz and Belas, Massamá and Monte Abraão, Cacém and São Marcos, Agualva and Mira Sintra, Algueirão-Mem Martins and the parish of Rio de Mouro) and two parishes of Loures (unions of parishes of Sacavém and Prior Velho, and Camarate, Unhos and Apelação).

The decision is justified by the “positive development that has taken place in the last month” in this region and given the reduction in the last week of around 30% of cases in the Lisbon and Tagus Valley region.

Since the beginning of the new coronavirus pandemic, there have been 50,868 confirmed cases of infection and 1,727 deaths in Portugal.