It’s official. UK list of ‘travel corridor’ countries excludes Portugal

  • ECO News
  • 3 July 2020

The British government published this Friday the list of countries and territories excluded from the 14-day mandatory quarantine.

Boris Johnson’s government announced this Friday that Portugal is not on the list of 59 countries that will have an ‘air bridge’ with the United Kingdom.

With this decision, British holidaymakers who go to Portugal will have to self-isolate for two weeks on their way back home. It should be noted that this constraint applies to all trips made by train, bus, plane or other means of transport.

In the list of 59 countries and territories published this Friday by the British government, all southern European countries are present (Spain, Italy, Greece, Malta, France and Cyprus), except Portugal.

These restrictions apply, however, only in the case of travel to England, leaving out Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.  This is because there was a disagreement in adopting these specific measures, and those three governments eventually decided to adopt their own measures.

According to the most recent figures, the United Kingdom has so far recorded over 283,000 people infected with coronavirus and 43,995 deaths due to the disease. It is currently the country with the most cases of infection in Europe and the third-largest in the world. Meanwhile, Portugal has 47,782 infected people and registers 1,587 deaths until this Thursday.